> > Topic

discussing team member rights

Nov 6, 2006 / pixtur
Apr 22, 2012 / pixtur
 

Attached files

No files uploaded
 

Project Rightsπ

Currently the rights of team members are only defined by two things:
  1. Their project profile which is been resolved into rights regarding items of different pub_levels:
    • read
    • write
    • delete
    • create items with pub-level
    • reduce pub_level
  2. Some global user settings:
    • RIGHT_VIEW_ALL (admin view, see items and team members even if not assigned to project)
    • RIGHT_EDIT_PROJECTS (edit team, change rights, etc)
This does not cover all possible situations:
  1. We sometimes need to finetune the rights to access items:
    • Anonymous guests should not be able to edit items of other guests.
  2. We might reduce certain rights like:
      • Viewing efforts of other team members.
      • Uploading Files.
      • Seeing other team members
  3. We might provide or give special rights like:
      • Approve / Close / Confirm / Delete items

10 Comments

cvivanco:More about team members rights..

8 years ago

There should also be different user rights for each project, like that you could control the ability for your team members to be leaders for any given project and only a non privileged user for core projects that involve your organization.

Also it would be terrific to restrict the creation of new tasks for a user profile (is it possible to do it in conf.inc.php?) for a given project.

Another fine tunning would be to restrict access to old version of uploaded files, not showing "Show details" would be enough.

binder:a wiki is a wiki is a wiki? ;)

8 years ago

sorry for that, but the good thing for wikis is, that everyone can change. If I don't want changes form specific persons, I give them only read-access.

Setting up user rights for specific tasks would blow up the interface. "Keep it simple and stupid" should be the course! *G*

pixtur:on wiki / freezing...

8 years ago

Hi Binder,

Thanks for getting some support on this issue. As with streber getting slowly some more publicity the feature requests gather mostly around rights and special options. I cannot state often enough, that more features are dangerous, if there are not essential. A wise man once said: Every option is made by someone who didn't dare to decide. It's always better to make 80% of your users very happy with an easy and intuitive solution, than 99% slightly happy with a confusing and complex solution.

Athough I like the idea of freezing project, I would argument, that we can live without this feature. Instead we should invest time into reverting to an exact project version at a certain time.

tom

cvivanco:Power to the people!!

8 years ago

I agree completely with wiki philosophy and keeping it simple. Less to worry about anyway.
I afraid about users missandertanding the power of this tool. I´m using streber as project manager for a ISO 9000 implementation. As far as now, I have being testing the ability for different user levels to View - Change - Modify tasks and files and after a couple of weeks playing around, I would say that it is just about empowering the users and making them part of the system and responsible for their actions.
Having a nice way to audit changes, like the history feature, and the possibility to reverse them would be enough for the purpose of keeping some control of a project.

Although I keep the idea of freezing projects, an probably the ability to share wiki among projects! (is that possible?)

woko:All or nothing?

7 years ago (2. update 7 years ago)

Hi all,

is it possible to set the user rights for e.g. a person with developer role (or any other role) just to change the status of a task and add comments?

At the moment the assigned role can either edit the complete task (milestone, description, assigned to and so on). Or just view the task.
I would expect, that the developer fixes his task, and after that, he edits the status to close (or whatever). But he should not be able to edit the description oder the assignments (to a person or a milestone). Editing the assigned person, milestones and descriptions of tasks should only be permitted by the project manager (or admin).

Is that possible to configure? Any Idea?

Ciao
Woko

guest:User rights are sooo confusing

7 years ago -

Hello out there,
i just installed the streber for the first time and I do love it right away. I also tested a lot of other systems but this seems to be the best (for me).
But (there is always a but) I can not understand the userrights system at all.
I have one project which has two members of a team. One is me (admin) the other one is "Alex". Alex is defined as a "Client". If Alex logs in he should only be able to edit those tasks that are assinged to him and/or owned by him and/or client-edit. But he can also edit tasks that are set to higher status ? Furthermore he should only see those tasks that have a pub-stat less then open. But he sees also open. I found that user table in this wiki but it says something different.
Or do I understand something completely wrong?

guest:Getting closer

7 years ago -

I think I found out what the problem is.
I changed the profile of that user. But it seems that you can not / should not do this as the rights management will not realise the changed rights.
Can somebody confirm this?

gb5256

guest:Hello anybody out there helping me with the rights management?

7 years ago -

I still do not get it to work.
Could anybody verify the following for me (as it is not working for me):

  1. Create a user and give him the role "Client"
  2. Create a Project and make him a team-member
  3. Create a Task and assign this task to him plus publish it to "client"
  4. Change the role of that user to "Client trusted"
  5. Create a Task in the above mentioned project, assign it to this user but publish it to open.
If I now log in as that user I only see one task. But according to the user-rights-table in this wiki, tasks that are published to "Open" should be visible to user that are team-members and trusted clients.

Can anybody confirm that behaviour for me?
Or is it wrong what I say?

Thanks for everybody it advance.
gb5256

guest:Does anybody have the answer to this problem?

5 years ago -

In my Installition it seems that all persons have the same rights. Only the Compnay Button is missing in the custumers or gust view. I would like to that an Customer only kann read, but my custerms can delete every thing.

Thanks for everybody it advance.

guest:What language?

3 years ago - visible as suggested -

I still do not get it to work.
Could anybody verify the following for me (as it is not working for me):
  1. Create a user and give him the role "Client"
  2. Create a Project and make him a team-member
  3. Create a Task and assign this task to him plus publish it to "client"
  4. Change the role of that user to "Client trusted"
  5. Create a Task in the above mentioned project, assign it to this user but publish it to open.
If I now log in as that user I only see one task. But according to the user-rights-table in this wiki, tasks that are published to "Open" should be visible to user that are team-members and trusted clients.

Microsoft?